Wednesday, 16 January 2013

Rules - Embedded ball in lip of bunker

This is actually a situation I had when refereeing a tournament last year.

Q. A player's ball is completely embedded in the vertical lip of a bunker. The lip is not grass-covered, so it is part of the bunker. Is the ball considered to be lying through the green? If so, the player would be entitled to drop the ball behind the bunker if he deems it unplayable.

A. No. An embedded ball is considered to be lying in the part of the course where it entered the ground.

The key to this ruling is that the lip wasn't grass covered. If the lip had grass growing within it then the ball would be considered to be lying through the green and the player would be entitled to free relief.

No comments:

Post a Comment